For Exposure // Jason Sizemore

Why I’m reading

It seemed interesting; I like Scifi, and I’m sort of interested in publishing. Plus the cover was pretty awesome. Ironically, a few chapters in, Sizemore mentions the cover art was fairly influential in getting people to pick up his new magazine.

Where I got the book

An eBook that I vaguely remember requesting from LibraryThing’s early reviewer giveaway.

Expectations

Well, LT early reviewers summary is what I was working with:

“In this collection of semi-true and sometimes humorous essays, Jason exposes the parties, people, and triumphs that shaped him into the Apex Overlord. He also lays bare the hardships and failures that have threatened to take it all away. Meet Thong Girl, heed the warning about the ham, receive rest stop bathroom wisdom, and visit an emergency room straight out of a horror movie in this extraordinary account of life as a publisher and editor.”

So how was it?

Okay, first of all, it took me nearly a month to finally get myself to read past the first few paragraphs. It was just… weirdly religious, out of the blue, and had nothing to do with publishing. Then I promised myself I’d sit down and read through at least a chapter, and couldn’t put it down.

It’s more or less what LibraryThing described: humorous autobiographical essays, starting with the author’s early life — a strange mixture of rural Baptist Christianity and Scifi/horror movies — before moving quickly into the world of fandom and publishing. What really sets this book apart is the writing. The whole “humorous semi-autobiographical essay” genre is full of fun and engaging writing, but Sizemore is unexpectedly sharp and smart. It doesn’t feel like he’s trying too hard to be Witty and impart a Meaningful Message (or, like a lot of the humorous essays I read, a Meaningful Feeling Without Any Actual Point). Something about the writing reminds me of… well, a good Scifi author.

Also notable are the rebuttal essays, written by friends and colleagues, interspersed between chapters. While they’re not the funniest part of the book, they provide a second point of view for many of the events he describes, so it feels less like a novelization.

If you’re only looking for insight into the publishing world, this probably isn’t really the book you want. It’s very specific to the world of small, independent Scifi/horror genre magazine publishing.

All 70+ issues of Apex Magazine are available in eBook format.

Recommendation

Anyone interested in the world of Scifi, short stories, or conventions. Heck, anyone even close to interested; three chapters in, and I was ready to check out every short story collection Greenwich has (…and I cataloged most of them, so…)

Feels

Sharp, smart, blunt, with more action than navel-gazing. He explains the inspiration and creation of Apex Science Fiction and Horror Digest in just 303 words, and it’s well done. That’s the kind of thing most authors would needlessly drag out for a chapter or two.

Favorites

The writing, by far — which means I’m tempted to just copy out all the best sections. But that would take up way too much space. Also, his early con experiences. Both exemplified in this quote:

“Don’t you want to eat something, first? The ham is delicious.”
No. I would not have any ham. The juxtaposition of human thighs and honey-baked ham made me blanch. I wrenched the door opened and rushed out of there.

Least favorites

The prologue. It’s not poorly written, but it was a bit too much right off the bat.

Writing style

He’s got a big vocabulary, and knows how to use it. And no, I don’t mean the kind of author who thumbs through their thesaurus looking for fancy words.

LibraryThing

One Comment Add yours

Leave a comment